THE ROOM by Jonas Karlsson

9780804139984Hovering around the New In section of Bow Ideas Store, I had a quick glance at the stand and I saw this. The kooky cover drew me in. It looked suitably Beckettian which is always intriguing.

The author Jonas Karlsson is a Swedish actor, apparently. Generally, I’m drawn to books written by actors. Why? Put simply, nobody knows character quite as well as an actor.

The Room is about a man who lands a job for The Authority, but the job is beneath him and to escape the daily grind he retreats into a room, the problem being nobody else in the office can see it.

I did enjoy this. I felt deeply inside the narrator’s head and his thoughts became my own. I laughed, I was unsettled and it was so simply but well structured, I was in awe. I couldn’t wait to find out how it would all be resolved.

I’d love to read anything else by him.

*****

About Suzy Norman Writes

Suzy is a freelance features writer and novelist. Her novel 'Duff' will be published by Patrician Press in 2015. It was also shortlisted for the Dundee International Book Prize 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.